does this count as self harm?

Discussion in 'Self Harm & Substance Abuse' started by tyge18, Jan 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tyge18

tyge18 Member

just wondering, sometimes when i am really angry, since i am not allowed to express my anger without fear of being beat i usually go into the bathroom and bite on my hand and scream and bang my head against the wall hoping to pass out.

it that self harm?

2. betteroffunknown

betteroffunknown Well-Known Member

first off i would like to say welcome to sf. we're really glad you're here. i'm no doctor but i would say that is a definately form of self harm. might i encourage you to try different ways to take it out. i grew up in an enviroment totally similar to yours and i picked up the arts. whether it was drawing, singing, or writing just to name a few things. i just want to encourage you to look into it. i believe in you. i believe you can find safer ways to do this. if it doesn't happen right away i understand, but start with baby steps. it can happen. please talk as you need to. we'll listen to ya, and most importantly please take care. i look forward to seeing you around the forum.

3. Petal

Petal SF dreamer Staff Alumni SF Supporter

Hi, welcome to the forum.
    I'd say yes, that is a form of self harm. When did you start sh'ing? What triggers it?

4. morning rush

morning rush Well-Known Member

welcome to the forum :hug:

yes that is a form of self harm...I'm sorry you're family doesnt allow you to get angry...its a natural emotion everyone has and you have every right to express it appropriately...

I can relate because with my dad I wasnt allowed to be angry, sad or upset, I would get ridiculed and grounded all the time...sometimes he would hit the walls, whatever was arround to scare me...

have you tried other alternative to express your anger?

5. Bambi

Bambi Well-Known Member