Don't know how to ask for help

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by srhk24, Feb 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. srhk24

srhk24 Member

Hi, so I am a college student with severe anxiety and depression problems. I am aware that my thoughts are not normal but I really don't know how to ask for help. My college has a counseling center but whenever I think about calling I get so nervous and cannot do it. I have a friend who I'm sure would be glad to listen to me but I just can't talk to her about serious stuff- it just makes me really anxious. Does anyone have any suggestions of how I could start to get some help (maybe without triggering the anxiety)?
  2. black_rose_99

black_rose_99 Well-Known Member

Hi srhk24, and welcome! :)

I understand exactly how you feel as I find it hard to make the first step too.

Some things that have either worked for me or worked for others are:

* write down how you feel, in a letter or in dot points, or even in a thread online here, print it off and go to the counselling centre and hand it to them.

* tell your friend that you think might listen some of the things you think you can tell her, then ask her if she can help you make the first move - she might be able to call the centre on your behalf, or go with you to a doctors appointment (even if she just comes to the waiting room and not into the office, she'll have at least given you some support to get there!) You could also write down what you want to tell your friend and either have her read it, or ask her to take it with you to the counselling centre