Doubts and the desire to make people happy

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by delargeal, Jan 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. delargeal

delargeal Well-Known Member

Ok, I've put this post here because I kinda would like some feedback. I may ignore it and go back to my old ways but I guess I just need some kind of advice or something.

I'm full of doubts at the moment. Right now I should be working on a presentation or another assignment that are both due in tomorrow (although my group is not meeting until later today).

This is the problem, group work. I have a hard time at being social. I do try but I'm not very good at it. Normally I have to be around someone on a regular basis for quite a long time before we both get used to each other and can talk as friends.

My group wants to split up. One of them said he was planning to work with another group next semester, and the other one then said he was as well which means that the third member of my group will work with them. I don't know if I'll be working with them. If I don't it means I'll have to work with people I don't know or get along with that well.

Here comes the next predicament. One of my friends who I worked with back in college has been getting in touch recently. He's a good guy, but back in college he lacked the confidence that I had with the subjects and so he always sort of turned to me for help, and I always tried to help him as best I can.

Over our first year of university, he found a good group to work with and he was becoming more confidant without my influence. It depressed me a little, as university was where I began to really doubt my abilities and yet he was doing so well. The master becomes the student, so to speak.