ECT - Good/Bad/Ugly?

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by galalleni, Feb 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. galalleni

galalleni Well-Known Member

Howdy y'all,

My depression has really taken hold of me the past few years or so - it takes me a lot of effort to do anything - I don't go outside except to see my counselor. My meds are brought to me and administered so that I cannot OD or do anything else - some might say I'm 'lucky' :dry:. Have a lot of trouble sleeping (hate sunlight, so I stay inside most of the time, with the blinds closed). There are a few things I enjoy - but they are far and few between. So enough rambling....

My doc says I should get ECT - I've heard both good and bad things - I have a lot of knowledge and would hate to lose the one scrap of myself that I value - but if it works, who knows...

So any thoughts on ECT?

(experiences, second hand reports, etc.)
  2. wastedmylife

wastedmylife Well-Known Member

ECT is a bunch of crap, as is most drugs, I dont know what to tell you, people need to find some type of peace within

People usually walk away from ECT with some type of brain damage from what I hear, I would stay the hell away from that crap, I think doctors just like to test things out because they are sick sadist fucks themselves, especially psychatric doctors
  3. Obsessive

Obsessive Well-Known Member

I've had ECT. It had no effect on my brain whatsoever, but it did make me worse when they screwed up my anesthesia and I was fully conscious roughly 10 seconds before I went out and was completely paralyzed and terrified, not able to move or breathe.