ECT: Have you tried it?

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by sweetles, Oct 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sweetles

sweetles Well-Known Member

Hello all. i am seeking to hear any personal, firsthand (not what you've heard) experiences of electro-convulsive therapy for the treatment of severe depression. i am someone who has not benefitted from drug or talk therapy, a lifelong major depressive. obviously i have a chemical imbalance, but this has been amplified by childhood sexual abuse, lonliness, and most recently a horrible break-up of the only real relationship I've ever had. two psychologists and a psychiatrist have recommended ECT for my case, but i am afraid of losing my personality, and afraid of memory loss that will effect me keeping a job. however if there is a chance i could get some relief from this depression...just enough to function, not seeking a cure....without horrible side effects, maybe i should just shut up and do it.

but an informed decision is important, so i would very much treasure any personal experiences with this treatment anyone can share.

2. Danialla

Danialla Well-Known Member

I am currently undergoing ECT for treatment resistant depression and while I have not noticed a huge improvement yet, I also have not had any major side effects. I was really worried about memory loss but haven't had any problems. I had my 10th treatment today and am always able to go right back to work the same day with no issues. A month ago I would have said think twice because I had ECT 40 yrs ago when I was 16. Now I would say give it a try it is supposed to be very effective where other treatments haven't been. Good luck.

3. sweetles

sweetles Well-Known Member