Encountering my ex...friend...

Discussion in 'Family, Friends and Relationships' started by Aphorism, Sep 14, 2015.

1. Aphorism

Aphorism Well-Known Member

I am currently in my third year of college. In my first year of college, my roommate was my best friend at the time. We developed a very emotional and sexual relationship (which was of course a huge mistake) - which eventually became emotionally abusive. At the beginning of our second year, this relationship became fully platonic, but our emotionally abusive behavior toward one another continued. She eventually started dating a guy (20 years older than her and her first boyfriend! lol), but lied to me about it for almost half a year.

Currently, she is probably still dating that dude (not for sure). I still run into her on campus, and we've had a lot of falling outs and then forgiving each other. But even the thought of encountering her makes me visibly anxious. Yet, just the other day I saw her, felt that anxiety, and talked to her and all of the anxiety disappeared. It was like we were still friends again with the way conversation could be made.

I have blocked her on social media and don't have her phone number in my contacts. (Though I do have it memorized). This reducing my anxiety for sure. But I just don't know how to not feel strange, running into her around campus. Avoiding her actively seems too difficult.

Has anyone else had to deal with such a mangled relationship?
  2. Prinnctopher's Belt

Prinnctopher's Belt Antiquities Friend SF Supporter

Its part of life and being social. You learn to adapt.

Accept that you will run into her, its inevitable. Learn to not care. This happens in college all the time and will in other places as you get older too, so its a good time to figure out getting by without being bothered.