Exercise and Pain

Discussion in 'Self Care and Healthy Lifestyles' started by Freya, Aug 20, 2014.

1. Freya

Freya Loves SF Staff Member ADMIN

I am not good with pain. That is to say, I am a wuss with a low pain threshold and while I have tolerance for pain that is "happening" to me, causing myself pain is something I do not have any motivation for.

I am currently about 110lbs overweight. Today I went to the gym. It was mortifying - basically. I explained to the gym instructor that I get pain and winded from even a couple of minutes brisk walk, so naturally she declared that we would "warm up with ten minutes on the treadmill". Ten minutes is beyond my limit for cardio, never mind a warm up. It hurts. And when it hurts I want to stop. Not only do I want to stop, but I find it very very hard to push myself past that want to stop.

Exercise of any kind has always caused me pain. Right back to school physical education. It is why I don't do it. It is why I know get winded and red and wheezy from more than a couple of flights of stairs.

I am not sure what I am asking for in terms of advice - maybe just looking for encouragement. Does anyone know how to convince yourself to inflict pain on yourself for an hour a day every day? Because I am not good at this.

2. total eclipse

total eclipse SF Friend Staff Alumni

I am not good at it either Freya the only way i can get exercise if is i need to do something like gardening pain for me has to have a purpose to it Music helps with activity that has to be done it distracts one from the pain some

3. Butterfly

Butterfly Pokémon Master Staff Alumni SF Author SF Supporter

I think with exercise you need to take it at your own pace otherwise you won't enjoy it and will be less inclined to do it. That's why I prefer swimming because I can usually just swim at my own pace, take as long as I want and just chill out.

4. GreyCat

GreyCat Well-Known Member