Feel isolated, no friends and can't seem to make them

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by elvinchild, Jun 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. elvinchild

elvinchild Well-Known Member

I live alone and the isolation is killing me. All but two of my friends have left and moved on, and the ones left live so far away and work so much I see them once a week or less. I'm really shy and it's really hard for me to make friends with my job - it's not like I work at the same place 9-5 every day, and I don't go to school either so I go nowhere that I can get to know people. I am a musician and most of my jobs are at events like weddings or cocktail hours where nobody talks to me, or sleezy bars where drunk dudes just try to hit on me. I do try to befriend people I meet but men just want to get in my pants and have no interest in platonic friendship, and women seem uninterested when I invite them to hang out. I can't live in this solitude forever, and I don't know how to bring people back into my life anymore. :/
  2. MisterBGone

Hello elvinchild, I sure do wish I could help you. At one time, I was four different people's best friend. And now, not a one or them are to be found. I tried to pick up my guitar to-day & sing, but no notes came out. I think that musicians are some of the most wonderful people to spend time with, so that's one advantage that you've got right there. You're interesting. I would suggest taking advantage of any opportunity to talk to any body in almost any situation at all (less the compromising scenarios you spoke of). I feel that given the time for some one to get to know you a real genuine friendship can flourish before you know it. And for the record, I have great respect for the performing artist. So, keep up the hard work and good luck. Sincerely, MisterBGone
  3. Mikeintx

Mikeintx Well-Known Member