Feeling ARRRRGGGGH!

Discussion in 'Rants, Musings and Ideas' started by Acy, Feb 26, 2008.

1. Acy

Acy Mama Bear - TLC, Common Sense Staff Member Safety & Support

Bit of a rant here. I’m feeling so ARRRRGGGGH!

I have been unemployed for over a year now. In all that time, I’ve had two job interviews. Only two! (And obviously, I didn’t get either job.) I’ve even gone to employment agencies/”headhunters,” and they aren’t calling me with jobs either.

I have two university degrees and a community college “vocational” certificate. I’ve got almost 20 years of work experience in administrative and clerical work, as well as other “transferable” skills in project management (e.g., budgets, profit and loss statements, team lead, progress tracking, hiring/firing, general research, writing).

I do volunteer work and I absolutely love it. I could even see myself doing it as a “paid job.” However, I need an MSW (masters degree in social work) to even be considered for that sort of “paid work”. (My dream was to get a “good enough for now” job and start saving so I could eventually do the MSW as part-time studies. That idea is hanging by a rapidly fraying thread.)

I am sooooo frustrated! I can’t help feeling that there’s something wrong with me, or I’m doing something really wrong, or I’m too old (I’m not a teen or even a 30-something… and I don’t have my “whole life ahead of me”).

No job. No money. Sick of f***ing peanut butter sandwiches or noodles for dinner! Beginning to get scared that I’ll never get work, my dream will go POOF!, and my mood will plummet (again!)…and things will just go downhill from there…

Has anyone else had a hard time finding work? Has anyone conducted a successful job search lately? How do you keep your spirits up?

Any tips, advice, commiseration, support will be very much appreciated.

Sorry for whingeing!

2. taranama

taranama Well-Known Member