Feeling like a failure

Discussion in 'Help Me! I Need to Talk to Someone.' started by parkerv2, Jul 28, 2016.

1. parkerv2

parkerv2 New Member

I am 29 years old. Ever since I graduated from college and dropped out of law school I haven't been able to find full time work. I had a job for a short time but left in order to pursue another degree that I hopped would increase my earning potential.

Now that I have completed that program I find myself in what I've termed the experience roundabout. I feel cheated by the school I went to since they didn't think to mention that every damn job posting would require 1 year of experience in the field. This is the reason I went back to school because I kept getting passed over at other jobs. (I often feel like my being invited to the interview is a formality, they have no intention of hiring me and I'm just one of the people they call in so when someone calls them out on nepotism or favoritism is discrimination they can say "Hey we interviewed 10 people").

At 29 I still live with my parents and they take care of me almost entirely a fact that irks them to no end especially my mother who enjoys pointing out that my political views don't match my lifestyle. It seems every week or so my mom gets upset with me because she doesn't think I'm doing enough to get hired.

I admit that most of this is my fault. I really don't want to work for minimum wage as I have student loans to repay and I have put in the work that was supposed to give me decent wages. I know its selfish and conceited but I also don't want to have to take a job where I'll be standing in a paper hat in front of one the people who was a class-A jerk to me in high school and now works on his daddy's farm for 50 grand a year with a wife and kids and a home.