• Please read the thread in Forum News and Announcements pertaining to race related discussion on SF - thank you :)

Feeling like I could never be loved for myself

This is my first time using this forum. I'm struggling a lot with these thoughts and feelings and I don't know how to deal with them. I hope someone can give me some advice, or at least understand what I'm feeling so I know I'm not delusional. (Sorry for the long post; I needed to get these things off my chest *nerves ).

So, most of the advice I've seen about dealing with depression and loneliness is like, "if you change your lifestyle, behaviors and thought processes you will be able to make friends and have 'normal' life". And I understand that, and even wholeheartedly believe it; I'm sure that if I acquired more social skills and interests and so on, I could make more friends. But my problem is that it sounds pretty much like, "if you become somebody else, then you will be accepted". Now, someone could argue that if you pursue something you really like then you are not becoming somebody else, but rather you are actualizing yourself. And that is true, but the fact remains that people would only like me for what I'm able to accomplish, or how a good conversationalist I become, etc. I need to perform "good traits" in order to have any worth in the eyes of others.