Feeling Overwhelmed

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by Shiningdarkmoon, Dec 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Right now I am in my first year of graduate school and it is finals week and I am completely stressed out about it. There is a good chance that I am not going to do well on some of, if not all of my test and it is really upsetting me physically and emotionally. This is nothing new for me but this time around I feel much worse, plus I have this constant feeling that something awful is going to happen, and as a result I am left really emotionally crippled during one of the most important times of my life, and I have no idea how I am going to get through this?
  2. The_Discarded

The_Discarded Staff Alumni

Yeah... often, these are tough times for people. I hope you'll do better than you're predicting. Good luck!

Try not to get too stressed out; that can dampen a person's performance (mind you, a little nervousness can be a good thing). If you can, whenever your head isn't in the books, exercise! That may help with some of the nerves. Be particularly healthy (eating, sleeping, etc.). A lot of times, when things are emotionally stressful, physical stress only serves to expedite it. So minimize physical stress by treating your body as kindly as is possible; that way, you're not tackling two annoyances at once and piling on the tension.

Other than that, the most I can say is study well and just hold out until it's over! :hug:

As for the constant feeling that something bad is going to happen... has this been going on for a while? do you see a doctor or anything? Sounds like hell. Anxiety's a bitch.

Sorry you're feeling overwhelmed. If you need to get anything off your chest on your way through these hurdles, you can PM me and I'll listen :arms:
  3. Sadeyes

Sadeyes Staff Alumni