• Please read the thread in Forum News and Announcements pertaining to race related discussion on SF - thank you :)

Feeling very conflicted

dude7691

Hi all :)

Been here before, 3 years ago I joined I think now. Things have improved since then :) A bit of background on me before I go into the main thing I need some advice with. I'm 21, living in Wales and self employed (sort of). I'm currently doing a degree with the Open Uni in economics. I have autism, I can act as if I'm normal but it's very clear the way I see things compared to others that I'm not. Anyway, I had a gambling problem when I was 17-18. Some of you on here may remember me coming here to talk about that. I was trading markets basically leveraged to the sky and beyond. I made £32k in a matter of 6 weeks, from an initial investment of £2.5k. I lost most of it following some idiotic gambles I made. Anyhow, I've now flipped and have become a compulsive saver. I've saved over £36k since then, through a combination of working in restaurants and student grants. This is great on paper, but has left me feeling so attached to my cash that I can no longer part with it, I only make absolutely essential purchases, and I can't invest in markets which I know I need to be doing if I want any hope of retiring, but that's a different story.