first timer

Discussion in 'Self Harm & Substance Abuse' started by gem77, Dec 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gem77

gem77 Well-Known Member

Im new to this section, usually just post in the 'let it out' sub-forum. Basically a few days ago i got some bad news and I didnt know how to handle it so cut myself. I don't know what possessed me to do it but i was upset and harmed myself. Weirdly enough after i had done it, i liked the way my wrist looked with the marks. I stared at myself in the mirror after, weirdly admiring it. I'm sorry if this offends people but its how i felt at the time. Now i'm worried because i have the urge to do it again and oddly enough am looking forward to doing it again. is there anyone here that can empathise ?
  2. total eclipse

total eclipse SF Friend Staff Alumni

Please don't go down that path hun it is not a coping skill that you want to keep You talk to your doctor or therapist and you get better coping skills hun ok hugs
  3. Oceans

Oceans Well-Known Member

I self-harm and can relate to what you're saying. Please reach out to a doctor or therapist. Once it becomes your daily method of coping, it can be become addictive. You're showing signs that it may turn out that way, please speak to a health-care professional about getting help. It can become a life-long battle if you don't seek help early. It is your first time so things can get better before you end up down my road.
  4. Laughitup

Laughitup New Member

I have cut before, but never too deep at all...because I'm scared. But I will turn to that because I don't know how to handle anything either :(
  5. gem77

gem77 Well-Known Member

hi 'oceans' thank you for replying. how long have you being doing it for ? thanks for the advice and i understand what you're saying is right but im not sure if im ready to speak to anyone about it..[yet]. i hope things get better for you.
  6. gem77

gem77 Well-Known Member