Food Ruts

Discussion in 'Self Care and Healthy Lifestyles' started by Godsdrummer, Mar 18, 2009.

1. Godsdrummer

Godsdrummer Guest

Do you ever find yourselves stuck in them?

I love to cook. When my wife and I were together I used to cook alot. And I think I am a pretty good cook. I used to make homemade hashbrowns. I make a really good Spaghetti and Meatballs. Or Ravs. I even have one of those Ronco (Set it and forget it) rotisseries, that we would do chickens on.

But lately since I have been on my own, I have found that cooking for myself, has lost it's luster.

So I have found myself stuck in a food rut. I have been eating things like Hungry Man dinners, or Tyson chicken patties covered with Chef Boyardee varieties. I try not to go out to eat, as I try to convince myself that it is healthier to eat at home, but the crap I am eating, prolly not. lol

So....have you ever been in a food rut? Are you in one now?
  2. Terry

Terry Antiquities Friend Staff Alumni

I think you'll find most people who live alone have the same problem.
    I love cooking but I know if my son leaves I won't bother anymore.
    A big part of the pleasure of cooking is seeing others enjoy it, so apart from the cat, who would be there to share.
  3. DarnTired

DarnTired Antiquitie's Friend

Yes, I have those too.

In fact, I get lots of kinds of ruts. There's street ruts: when I'm sick and tired of walking the same streets to get home and think if I pass that bush one more time, I scream. And store rut: going to the same store to get the same food. And today I experienced hang-out rut: that's when I want to go somewhere and hang-out and I've got lots of choices, but I'm sick of all of them, so I stand on the sidewalk like an idiot, looking left and right, trying to figure out where to go.
  4. mdmefontaine

mdmefontaine Antiquities Friend

i love to cook

but it seems no one is ever home to eat at the same time.