Going home?

Discussion in 'Help Me! I Need to Talk to Someone.' started by Oloriel, Mar 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Oloriel

Oloriel Well-Known Member

Hey guys.

So, it's been nearly exactly a year since I finally got my ex out of my life completely. I'd say "since we broke up", but he dragged the break-up out for a full month, and I wasn't free until around this time last year. Interpreting "free" loosely, that is. You would think I'd be feeling better a whole year after I leave my abusive ex and have been with my new, more caring partner. Yet here I am, still haunted and scared.

Now, add to this the fact that I am studying abroad in Japan. As the crisis here worsens in the wake of the earthquake, my home university is apparently freaking out about its students here, and some have emailed the school saying they want to go home. Well, from what I have read, the rest of our year here might actually be canceled, and we could be pulled out of Japan. The spring semester at home has already begun, so it's too late for us to enroll in classes there. Instead, I'll be stuck at home until next year.

Home. Home, where my parents threaten me with therapy, constant supervision, and keeping me out of things I enjoy to prevent me from cutting and killing myself. Where my ex lives just down the street, and accidentally running into him is a real risk. Where I don't have the level of independence that I have here, that at least makes me feel like I'm in charge of my own life for once. Where I am judged every day. Where I'll be halfway around the world from my boyfriend in China.