Greetings for a not-native english new member

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by Elias, Oct 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Elias

Elias Member

Hi there,
    I'm not good at presentations, so I will put it as much short as I can.
    My name is Emanuele (but I prefer Elias) and I'm an italian guy who lives in Rome. I'm a 24 years old university student and worker.

I've been suffering from BDD (body dysmorphic disorder) since I was 13. It got really severe 6 years ago. I've always tried my best to be (and have in fact been) functional - by this I mean I've always did what I was suppose to do in order to help family and myself going through the 'most practical' stages of life. Study, work, sometimes friend, helping at home.

I've been sexually abused when I was 10, by an older mental retarded guy. I don't feel like it hurt much, not compared to Bdd. Far from that, in all honesty.

My father has always been emotionally abusive and my mother is a former alcoholist, now an AA.
    While my dad is an extremely sarcastic and harsh person, he's a great worker.
    My mom is emotionally immature and unable to cope with some kind of problems.

I have a sister who's 18. We never got along.

I don't love my family. I help them by doing little things and act kindly toward them just because of gratitude.
    Not sure I should be grateful, but
    they love me in their own way, while I probably don't.

I've been a cutter for a few years and also a moderator of the biggest italian self-injury community.

Sometimes I feel like dissociating, but not completely.

I've never attempted suicide, just because I'm not the 'attempting' kind.

I have a girlfriend I love a lot. She's the only person I really love.
    She suffers from terrible nightmares and used to be a cutter too, but in first place she's an over-sensitive, extremely delicate person, who perfectly knows we're not gonna marry, have children and be a family.

I'm currently in treatment.