Greetings: Right Spot for Me?

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by amk666, Sep 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. amk666

amk666 Active Member

Hello everyone.
    I just want to say what a great resource this seems to be. I really like how people help one-another & offer support here. Leaves me to wonder how things would have unfolded if we'd had resources like this back in the day:)

I apologize in advance for the length of this.

I'm fifty-four years old, married with one son & I work as a commercial photographer. In nearly every way I consider my life to be blessed & myself the recipient of incredible fortune. I'm not suicidal nor am I aware of being depressed, but I do have a history. Short story long: I was taken to counseling, medicated, received two EEGs (5 & ~12 y/o) & put on all sorts of meds while in elementary school. Why? I'll never know. My mother passed away in '74, & my dad, who's still alive, is the sort of guy who'll tell you he's scheduled for surgery, but when you ask what for he'll truthfully reply: "I don't know, something the doctor said."

My family went through a lot of turmoil when I was 11 - 14 y/o, starting with my elder sister's running away. Then I was seriously injured in a bike accident. My dad's union went & stayed on strike & my mother's health began to fail. All within the course of a few years. I did my part by making everything as difficult as possible for everyone involved. You read about kids who protect their parents and/or siblings from family issues. Not this one.

When I was 14 or 15 I finally came to my senses a tiny bit. I tried to make amends for all the grief I'd caused by drinking a bottle of Port & taking dozens of tranquilizers. All that got me was three months of in-patient psych.