Hanging by a Proverbial Thread

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Rammingstone, Mar 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rammingstone

Rammingstone Member

Lately the idea of suicide is becoming prevalent and overwhelming. I've always promised myself it would remain an option only if I felt that I had completely failed at life. Well, I'm now at that point. Hope has indeed abandoned me for a more faithful companion...

Here's my story; first the vital stats:

I'm a 38 yo male, never married, no kids, no girlfriend, no friends period anymore. All the friends from my youth are married and/or moved away. I work full-time as a truck driver hauling dangerous goods (acids and explosives).

I try to analyze my life as objectively as possible, so here it is:

The Good-

good health
    clean-cut attractive looks and build (so I've been told)
    I earn a well above average income
    My core personality is quiet, gentle and nice
    I live a clean lifestyle (non-smoker, drinker, drug user)
    I'm fairly intelligent
    I have good morals

The Bad-

very negative attitude
    I hate my looks
    I hate my job (alone all day 6 days/wk) very long hours
    I have a ton of false pride
    I come across as arrogant, cold, and aloof
    I've conditioned myself to bury my emotions in most situations

In general, I just see myself as being ugly inside and out and incapable of receiving or deserving anyone's love. I used to enjoy hobbies (all solitaire of course), but I basically lost all interest in what once gave me enjoyment, or at least, contentment.

I feel I have accomplished all I can. Nothing brings me enjoyment anymore...absolutely nothing. Like so many others, much of my depression stems from lack of success with women. I never dated in high school but did a little dating in my early-mid 20's, but have done none since.