Hard work for noting....

Discussion in 'Rants, Musings and Ideas' started by Shock, Aug 2, 2012.

1. Shock

Shock Well-Known Member

Hi all,

This is just a rant. Im soooo pissed off.

Im a web developer, meaning for a living I make websites. I got a new job recently. The first thing they had me do was make an iPhone app.

Now this for the uninitiated is like asking a carpenter to work a day as a welder. Although there kind of in the same industry they are completely different skills. So naturally I said I couldnt do this as I didnt know how. However I was told there was now a hybrid platform to turn my web code into iPhone code. So reluctantly (this is my first day on the job remember) I said I would give it a go without making any promises.

For the next 2 months I work my ass off - doing 10hr shifts at the office and often a few hours at home. Not only did have this app to do but regularly web work as well. I learn so much and slave away at this. It consumes my life. I lie awake at night trying to get my head around issues.

Finally, last week, its done. I show the clients. Their thrilled! My boss is happy with it and I'm really proud of my self. I submit the app to Apples app store and finally get to catch my breath and return to what im comfortable with - making websites.

That is until yesterday. I get an email from Apple saying my app's been rejected. Panicking I ring them. They cannot tell me what I can do to improve it. I ask for an appeal. The answer comes back: no. Meanwhile the deadlines looming and I cant fix it because I dont know what to fix. My boss is pissed the clients pissed and I feel powerless.

So yeah - thanks Apple....its only a fucking app

2. lostbutnotfound

lostbutnotfound Well-Known Member