Have SSRI's helped you?

I am planning on starting next week and wondering if they have helped you or not? I think I remember seeing a thread about SSRI's and if they worked on not and that people not posting because they aren't suicidal anymore aren't here to give success stories so it looks skewed to them not working.

Last edited:

Sunspots

To Wish Impossible Things
Admin
SF Supporter
The thing with antidepressants is that what works for one might not work for another. Similarly, any side effects differ from person to person.

But as a very general rule, SSRIs are probably the most common antidepressants prescribed, in the UK at least. And I suppose that's because they're considered to be the safest and most effective medication for most people (I'm guessing this as I'm not a doctor).
SNRIs are another type of antidepressant that can be prescribed by a general doctor. I took venlafaxine (Effector) for a while as it's also supposed to help with hot flashes. Duloxetine is also used to help treat physical pain. So sometimes these are used if you have any co-occuring conditions.

gypsylee

SF Supporter
I am planning on starting next week and wondering if they have helped you or not? I think I remember seeing a thread about SSRI's and if they worked on not and that people not posting because they aren't suicidal anymore aren't here to give success stories so it looks skewed to them not working.
Yes, and I’m the first person here to criticise psych meds. Not so much now because I’ve been on and off them for 20 years and they just don’t seem to do anything (positive or negative). But when I first tried them (Prozac) they had a really dramatic positive effect. It took about 3 weeks, and in that time they were pretty nasty. They helped my brother as well. It really depends on individual chemistry though as someone said (sorry, I can’t see who bc I can’t scroll!)

Petal

~*Mod Extraordinaire*~
Staff Alumni
SF Supporter