having suicidal thoughts due to visa issue

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by anonymous314, Jul 7, 2016.

1. anonymous314

anonymous314 New Member

I came to US 9 years ago to start a new life. I earned my PhD from a top tier University in Physics. I worked as a postdoc for a couple of years and my fellowship was suspended due to expiration of my visa. I applied for a new visa 8 months ago. USCIS will not tell me how long it will take to process my visa. I have been offered a very prestigious fellowship in the US but it is incumbent on getting a visa.

If the visa issue is not resolved soon I will loose my postdoc fellowship and my career will be ruined. I know how senseless it must sound, but I cannot go back to my country and start a new life from scratch. I have been talking to congressional representatives and I am loosing hope very fast.

I know I came here on a non-immigrant visa and I have no right to stay here if the US government does not want me to stay. However, my visa is not even denied, it is just taking too long and the only reply I get from USCIS is that it is within the normal processing time. Nobody will tell me what the normal processing time is. It has already been 8 months. I talked to lawyers, employees dealing with the visa issue, nobody is able to do anything to influence the all powerful USCIS.

I know my mistake was that my whole life was about being a physicist. Now that is being taken away from me I have nothing to live for.
  2. SillyOldBear

SillyOldBear Teddy Bear Fanatic Staff Member Safety & Support

Welcome to America, the land of red tape that slows everything down and ruins lives. But this is really insane. There are not that many physicists around. And a mind that can understand physics is a special mind indeed. Please keep trying. Hound those bloody politicians. Get them to do their job. We need you here.
  3. anonymous314

anonymous314 New Member