Heartbroken

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by Michael Ayin, Jun 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Michael Ayin

Michael Ayin Well-Known Member

"Someday this war's gonna end. That'd be just fine with the boys on the boat. They weren't looking for anything more than a way home. Trouble is, I'd been back there, and I knew that it just didn't exist anymore."

--Apocalypse Now

For the longest time I worked as an assistant chef at a gourmet restaurant. When I got laid off, everything in my world almost turned upside down. Within a matter of weeks my dad almost died. Twice. Top that off that despite unemployment insurance I was losing money, and any job offer I had was disgustingly low for my background and would not keep me afloat even financially. It was a slap in the face----all my blood, sweat and tears for fucking nothing, and my father may not live to see another decade if he does not shape up.

I lament what has happened with my life. Near the end of 2008 nothing was perfect, but I was largely happy and felt that despite the shitty economy things eventually would turn around. I have not been really happy since the summer of 2009. Yes, I have a job, there is no pride in it and now looks to be a dead end. I had to do something. I suffered to try to get where I am and now it has not paid off. I cannot wait forever.