Hello all, am seeking support for a friend.

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by littlebluegiraffe, Jul 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. littlebluegiraffe

littlebluegiraffe New Member

Hi.
    Would like to introduce myself. Am 38 year old married mum of one. Have had depression in the past but am much better now and enjoying life. I am a teacher and have a friend who is very depressed and lonely. Last night she thought about taking an overdose. I happened to text her and she was able to talk to me about how she felt. She text this morning to say that I was the only thing keeping her alive. She has had the worst year I can imagine and needs some serious help.
    A few years ago, another friend killed himself. He felt he had no-one to turn to. I would have been there for him, if only I had known how bad things were. I will never get over the guilt.
    Really, what I am asking for is for support and advice as to how I can best help my friend, and a listening ear for myself.
    Any advice would be very welcome.
    Thanks

2. NiceGuYKC

NiceGuYKC Well-Known Member

Welcome to these forums.
    Stick around, because this place is full of good people.
    I'm sure you'll get great advice from them.

I hope your friend gets better soon.
    She's very lucky to have a friend like you.

3. Acy

Acy Mama Bear - TLC, Common Sense Staff Member Safety & Support

Hi, and welcome to the forums! I'm so sorry to hear that you lost one friend to suicide, but I'm glad your other friend connected with you last night. The friend that talked to you is a very lucky person to have a good friend like you in her life. Do you know if she has gone to her doctor or a therapist? Maybe she's nervous about doing that and perhaps you could encourage her to try it.