Hello all

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by Grace88, Oct 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Grace88

Grace88 Member

I'm new to the website. It's a relief to come here and not feel so alone. I'm not sure what to write.....I'm 22, married just over a year to a wonderful husband, highly achieving (definitely a do-er), and subject to baffling mood swings. I have ups, but my lows have been getting scarier and more extreme. Anxiety comes on quick and suicidal thoughts are more common then ever. Like I said, I'll have ups, and when I'm up it's hard to remember how low the downs were, and when I'm down it's almost impossible to remember ever being up. I've been in counseling since my most recent major "down" in March and am just starting to look at medication.

I love my husband, am back in school to get some prerequisites done so I can apply to medical school (I graduated with my undergraduate degree when I was 19 and also completed massage school since then, and now I'm back for more), want kids someday more than anything, want to do something meaningful and make a difference with my life (biomedical research? Medicine abroad?), and am terrified of failure. I wish I could make my parents happy and make their lives what they want them to be, I wish my husband didn't have to suffer from anxiety and depression, I wish I didn't have the experience/fear of letting people down all the time, and I wish I didn't have such lovely experiences of joy punctuated with intense periods of hating myself and wanting to die. Sometimes life is full of endless possibilities and sometimes I can't imagine living another moment like this.

I'm glad that this forum is here.

2. black orchid

black orchid Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum Grace. Hope you find the support you are looking for here.

Look forward to seeing you around. :)
  3. Sadeyes

Sadeyes Staff Alumni