Hello from a determined 94%er

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by quirkyalias, Dec 29, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. quirkyalias

quirkyalias Member

Hello! I've been hovering for a couple of months, but i think i had my "enough" moment today. reading some of the stuff on here's managed to talk me down, deep down i know i'm just ill, but i want to stop hating myself and finding myself either researching how to go about it, or trying on impulse, which is arguably worse.

I'm 28, my life so far hasn't amounted to much but i managed to get onto a university degree as a mature student (despite dropping out of college). i thought this would be the turning point i needed but if anything it's just confirmed the futility of my efforts. i'm just broken. there was something everybody told their kids that nobody told me. say i finish this degree, which i'm more than capable of, i'll still have the same basic problems. i spent christmas on my own again, and every birthday, relationships, friends, even social media, every experience i've ever had just tells me none of that stuff is for me. people just seem to treat me differently.

even now, on a site called 'suicide forum' i feel like i've selfishly said too much considering the fact that i don't believe i'm in immediate danger so TL DR: i'm glad i'm finally here.

PS
    the title of this thread makes a reference to a statistic that was quoted to me, but the delivery carried a sense of cruel research. still, apparently only a small percentage of people like us actually go through with our plans, and 94% are 'just looking for attention'. i don't doubt for a second i'm the only person that's had to face this, so i say if that 94% of people managed to pull themselves out of this, then that number should be celebrated.

2 people like this.
  2. Petal

Petal SF dreamer Staff Alumni SF Supporter