Hello from Hazel

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by Hazel Morse, Dec 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hazel Morse

Hazel Morse Well-Known Member

Hazel Morse isn't my real name, it's taken from Dorothy Parker's short story Big Blonde. I really identify with this character, who has good reasons to be unhappy with her life but is told to "snap out of it" each time she expresses any feelings of sadness. She eventually tries and fails to commit suicide.

I'm just beginning to realise the extent of the physical and emotional abuse I went through growing up, but it's left me so socially maladjusted that I am now in the position where I have no friends (that’s zero), the only relatives who will speak to me are my abusive mother and stepfather, no boyfriend or husband, no children, I have spoiled my job prospects (apparently forever) and I cannot function normally in society. I'm too poor to get a cat or dog. I do have a job (that I hate, and an abusive workplace) but that looks to be all over in 6 months. Like Hazel, I've tried and failed to commit suicide twice now. I also drink, like Hazel, but not as a coping mechanism. I drink because it's a legal, slow way of committing suicide. I wish I could get my hands on real drugs and do it faster, but I have no friends, and don't know where I'd purchase them.

There is something...I don't know, so apparently foul, wretched, disgusting about me that everyone reacts negatively to the things I say and do, even when I think I'm acting like everyone else. It's like there's a sign written on my forehead that says "Worthless. This is not a human being, this is a piece of shit - less than shit, really. Abuse her. Make her know how useless her life is; how much space she's taking up on the planet." The strange thing is, that trying to commit suicide, or even admitting to feelings of depression, makes people hate and punish me more.