Hello, I'm new, too!

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by Michi, Mar 29, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Michi

Michi New Member

Hello All,

My name is Michi. I am 52 and live near Washington, D.C. In the U.S.A. I'm recently remarried, have 2 children, a daughter 26 who is getting married in June (a MAJOR stressor) and a son, 13, who lives with his father.

I am a professor at a local college, enjoy tandem bike riding with my totally blind husband, and am passionate about all things artistic- sewing, painting, music, etc.

I've been through two abusive marriages. This is marriage #3. Michael landed in my life, quite remarkably, shortly after a 6 week hospitalization following an unsuccessful suicide attempt. My former husband told me that everyone would be better off if I just killed myself, so I went upstairs and did exactly that- I stabbed myself in the heart. That was in 2011.

Now, I have a very loving and caring husband. He treats me like a queen. I think we saved each other really as he was in an abusive relationship as well (yes, even men can be physically and emotionally abused).

In spite of all of this, I'm racked by guilt. My, then, 10 year old son, who was up way past his bedtime, came into my room (his dad and I had been sleeping separately for years), and found me bleeding to death on my bed. This nearly destroyed him and I lost custody as a result.

I messed up my daughter, too, since I brought her into an abusive relationship when I married husband #2.

So on and on it goes. I have a successful career in education, a beautiful house in the country (with a long commute, though), a husband who adores me...yet, still, I am depressed and frequently have suicidal thoughts. I hate myself because I say mean things to my husband, I only get to see my son every other weekend, my daughter has repressed anger towards me (for allowing husband #2 to virtually treat her like a slave for 10+ years).