Hello [potential triggers?]

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by Jackson MacKenzie, Mar 28, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jackson MacKenzie

Jackson MacKenzie New Member

Perhaps this should go in another subforum, but I only have enough energy to make one post. So here goes. I will trust whichever moderator examines this first post (since my account is still under trial) to put it where it ought to go.

Hi. I'm Jack. Not my actual name, of course.

My life should be great. I have little in the way of financial worries, I have a promising education ahead of me and an almost-guaranteed career in my field after it. I have a loving and supportive family, and friends whose company I enjoy.

And I am suicidal. And I have been for years. My friends and family don't understand why I am. I don't understand why they aren't.

I can point at things in my life - I'm a veteran, my marriage fell apart, people I love die - and those suck, yes. But they are not why I am suicidal.

When I wake up in the morning, I can't stand the sight of my own face. When I think about my life, I cannot honestly come up with a reason why it ought to continue. I know that leaving this life would be injurious to many people, but frankly that doesn't seem like a good reason to continue it. It makes no sense to me that my life should be a constant act of martyrdom, keeping on with a hellish existence simply because doing so is comforting to those around me.

The only conclusion I have been able to come to about why I have not yet managed to die is that I am a coward; that I dread the great unknown more than I fear my own life. Yet this makes me look at suicide as an even more desirable thing; the act of a brave man, "tak[ing] up arms against a sea of troubles".