Discussion in 'Welcome' started by Beatrice, Oct 27, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Beatrice

Beatrice New Member

I'm a little averse to giving out my real name, so please refer to me as Beatrice. I'm a nineteen-year-old college student, and I have been battling depression since my adolescence. Lately, it is getting harder to live. I hope that by joining these forums, I might be able to gain a support system... and perhaps it is not the best place, but to build friendships as well.

I'm very shy. I have a hard time reaching out to people in real life, so I am virtually friendless (most of my friendships are on the Internet.) Ironically enough, I am a psychology student with a long-term goal of helping people overcome social phobias and social anxieties. It has been something I have wanted to pursue for a long time.

In my free time, I play video games, watch anime, read manga... but it gets lonely doing such mundane activities by yourself day after day.

Regardless, it's very nice to meet everyone, and I hope that we can get along well...
  2. Unknown_111

Unknown_111 Forum Buddy Staff Alumni SF Supporter

Welcome to the forum. You joined a forum that will help and support you. Keep posting support and care. Good luck with your career.
  3. True-Lee

True-Lee Well-Known Member

Well Hi Beatrice, You don't have to give out your real name, so that's cool. I too welcome you to SF and hope that you can find help here and yes, I believe friends too. I am Leigh and I have been coming here just over 2 weeks. I too have some issues and am dealing with depression as well. I hope that you will find this is a safe place to come and meet with others and hopefully to find some help with your issues, go at your own pace. I have not had problems with anyone here and don't anticipate any. I wish you the best.
  4. stapleremover

stapleremover Chat Buddy