Hello

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by Mortal Moon, Oct 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mortal Moon

Mortal Moon Well-Known Member

Sorry I'm here. ;) Well, I guess I'll say a bit about myself.

I'm a college student, currently being treated for depression. I'm taking citalopram (Celexa) and getting counseling. Despite this, I constantly feel desperately suicidal, although I've never made a serious attempt.

I haven't attended any of my classes in over a month, and it's almost certain that I'll be kicked out of school if I don't withdraw from this semester soon. Frankly, the only reason I'm still here (at college, that is) is that the dorms give me a place to live that's not with my parents; although I'm fortunate enough to have a loving relationship with both of my parents, it's kind of a point of pride for me to strike out on my own to an extent. I neither have nor want a job, nor do I think I could hold down a job if I had one. I'm terrified of being out in the world and having adult responsibilities; I can easily see myself wasting away in some apartment somewhere or at my mom's house, doing nothing and making nothing of my life. Meanwhile, I'll sink farther and farther into debt and slowly lose my grip on any dreams and aspirations I may have had.

I drink quite a bit, though not (in my estimation) a dangerous amount. I have a tendency to stay awake through the night and sleep all day; it's currently about 4:30 in the morning here. I've never had sex or been in a romantic relationship, and I have few friends (in fact, I know only one person who I would consider a close friend- and he's living halfway across the country right now.) I used to enjoy reading and playing the piano, but I haven't done much of either recently. Even the relatively brainless activities I do to pass the time- surfing the internet, playing video games, masturbating- are gradually losing their appeal.