Hello

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by droplet, Dec 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. droplet

droplet New Member

I'm not sure how to start this, but here it goes.

I'm a female in my early 20s. I graduated from college an year ago. I'm not using my degree for anything, and I don't plan on it. I have no interest in just having a job for the sake of money, but I do have one right now to make ends meet. I live paycheck to paycheck. I have no interest in finding a career of any sort.

My family and I have been estranged because of my decision to ditch my college education and get away from the pressure they put on me to find a lucrative occupation. I'm disgusted at the thought of the relationships I had with them. It was depressing, manipulative, toxic.

From middle school onwards, I used to fantasize about "saving the world" -- helping the poor, killing the bad guys, being a hero. Some of it was altruistic. Some of it was an ego trip. I was a sensitive person with a big heart and big ambitions, but had too much self-doubt. I was enraged by the atrocities I read about in Africa to the point of tears. I was disgusted that family and friends did not show the same level of outrage and concern that I did. I was inspired with rebellion against western culture after reading "Ishmael" in 10th grade and would argue vehemently with anyone who opposed its claims. I was naive and took big leaps in imagination, but hardly a step in reality.

After I graduated and all was said and done with my family, I was resolved to figure out what the heck I wanted to do. Still wanting to work with those in need -- the poor, the displaced -- I thought about joining a non-profit. I quickly realized that I didn't really agree with the goals of the non-profits I looked into. My idea of helping those in need didn't coincide with theirs on a very basic, fundamental level.