Hello

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by Montana, Jan 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Montana

Montana Member

Good morning people,
    (actually its afternoon now, but when i started writing this was morning)

So, i first heard of this website some months ago (around 7 i guess) when i was feeling a bit unmotivated towards life. I read some posts and i must admit i felt kind of ridiculous cause my concerns are nowhere near the ones of the average user of this forum.

To start, a little bit about me: i'm a 25 yold male, soon to turn 26. I'm brazilian (so please forgive my bad english). I graduated as civil engineer 2 years ago. I've been with the same girlfriend for the last 8 years. I was never abused, hurt or molested. I have few but good friends. My parents were and still are great.

So why would i feel unmotivated? I think it was a mix of 2 factors:

- the lack of meaning in life: since around 15 yold i think a LOT about life, about what we do and how we live. And i just can't find a meaning to it. I'm an atheist, so for me there's nothing after this. And after i graduated and started on a steady job routine, things were like: wake up, work, lunch, work, dineer, tv/pc/drinks, sleep, repeat. On weekends having some moments of drunk fun. Then repeat all over again. Knowing that i'll probably never stand out in anything. Ill live my life just as my father lived his.
    - pressure: the way things are going, i'll take over the family construction business. Thinking of it kind of freaks me out, cause it's so much responsability. I can't deal with failure, and things sometimes go wrong, thats a fact. For the last year i've been living alone in a small town to work on a project that should end in 5 months. And here i had some work issues that nearly got me to my limit (employees issues). I think there's a lot of pressure for me to "succed".