Discussion in 'Welcome' started by ZasuArt, Nov 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ZasuArt

ZasuArt Well-Known Member

I just posted in the crisis forum, but I suppose I should have introduced myself first.

-You can call me Zasu or Tam.
    - I struggle with severe depression, thoughts of suicide, anxiety and insomnia, and have for as long as I can remember. As I type this, I am at an all time low.
    - I am a 40 year old artist and metalsmith. Business sucks and I'm really struggling for inspiration lately.
    - I married my partner of 12 years this past June. She (and my boys, see below) are truly all I live for.
    - I have 2 adorable, elderly mutt-children who I love more than almost any human being.
    - I am a survivor of childhood physical, mental, emotional and sexual abuse.
    - I am also a survivor of rape and attempted rape in my early 20's.
    - I am recovering addict, roughly 18 years clean.
    - I have been estranged from family for most of my adult life, but no longer "hide" and have spotty contact with most of my immediate family of origin.
    - I've been an insomniac all my life. I almost never sleep more than 3 hours a night, and will often go days without any sleep at all.
    - I hate mirrors, cameras and angry confrontation.
    - I have no tolerance whatsoever for racism, homophobia, sexism and animal cruelty.
    - After years in treatment, I'm pretty good with offering sincere advice, but have a lot of difficulty practicing what I preach.

Glad to meet you all.
  2. Isabel

Isabel Staff Alumni

Welcome to SF :),

You seem to have much to live for despite the depression. I do hope we will be able to provide some support and understanding. Again, welcome.
  3. ZasuArt

Thanks Isabel. I really appreciate all the support I can get, and hope I can also help those who share my struggle.
  4. Avarice

Avarice Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forums! I hope you find the help you need here. :hug:
  5. jimk