Help reqired please

Discussion in 'Self Harm & Substance Abuse' started by Up&down, Dec 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Up&down

Up&down Well-Known Member

Hi Everyone,
    I'm helping someone using the 12 step recovery programe for a drink addiction.
    It works for drink, drugs, eating, deppression etc.
    Anyone who knows about it knows you have to deal with parts of your life that come back to haunt you from time to time, it really does work I have not had a drink, drugs or copulsive behaviour for nearly ten years.
    My problem is the person I am working with someone self harms, drink etc has not cut for a few months but by going through some stuff over the last couple of days, she had a binge on choc's and cut herself twice.
    My thoughts are to carry on with the 12 steps to get the drink and eating firmly sorted then move on to self harm,I have no experience with cutting any advice will be greatly taken on board.
    I have just sent her a link to this wonderfull site.
    Thank you
    Danny

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 22, 2007
  2. Isa

Isa Well-Known Member

cutting is a release of stress.

start the steps again.

cutting is an addiction like everythin else and it stays with you for life because it has an escapist value to it.

But it builds up over time. You can go 3 days without, then a week, then 2 days, then a month, slowly your tolerance against stress builds up.

Cutting when your trying not to isnt a failure, it doesnt reset you to 0. Remind your friend of that.

Heres a post ive made about self harm...

Harming is a form of escapism, to help us keep control over our pain and escape from it sort of. Therefore it will ALWAYS be a temptation for most people who have self harmed for long periods of time. You cant wait until you dont need self harm to stop as self harm causes a vicious cycle, you find yourself depressed because you have scars and then scarring yourself because your depressed.