Help With Girlfriend

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by JZ1267, Apr 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JZ1267

JZ1267 New Member

My girlfriend and I have been dating for just over six months now. We are closer to each other than anyone else in the world and I am very afraid for her. During the last two weeks, she has been going through some major problems with her parents (them threatening to cut her off financially if she doesn't comply with everything they tell her to do) and she just hasn't been the same since then.

She has tried numerous times in the past to commit suicide and cut herself a lot as well. She has only done it twice since we have been together, but we talked about it and I helped her get over it.

Now, I have no experience whatsoever with this type of situation, so I am not quite sure what to do. During class today, she was writing in her notebook and I caught a glimpse of a few things. She wrote, "I wish I could just sleep forever", "I wish I could just go away", and "Everything I do aggravates him (me)". We haven't been having any relationship problems, so I'm not too worried about that and have no idea what she is talking about when she says that everything aggravates me. Now, she hasn't been sleeping well for the last week. She wakes up constantly and can in no way sleep through the entire night. She wants to take Tylenol PM to help her sleep, but I'm worried that one day she's going to decide to take too many of them.

Even though she's having problems with her parents, she's horribly homesick. She's going home from college this weekend to talk to her parents about this whole financial situation. I'm just worried that some bad things are going to happen while she's there and she just won't be coming back.

Sorry this is kind of rushed, so if something isn't clear just ask a question. Please any advice would be great since I don't want to see the love of my life hurt herself.

2. JZ1267