Hey, I'm a newb here too.....

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by MourningMe, Dec 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MourningMe

MourningMe Member

I'm new to this forum as of last night. Kinda funny how reading other people's issues makes me think it will pass and there is a better way than suicide. Yet, for me I cannot.

My entire life I have been the survivor, the fighter. In some ways I relished the title b/c it meant I had strength. I can remember wanting to die on my 10th birthday as I hid in a closet. I remember thinking, there is just no way way I could endure my life until 18.

I cannot ever remember feeling suicidal yet just wished to not wake up. But that changed 1.5 years ago while on vacation at the beach. The beach, interestingly enough had always been one of the places I felt the most peace in recent years. Yet, suddenly that changed for no apparent reason. The urge was quite strong. I told my GP and we switched up meds.

Long history on anti depressants since my youth. Childhood abuse and neglect, the gift that keeps on giving.

I'm now 40. Look like I'm 25-30 (good and bad). Married for 20 years this year (minus our 2 year sabbatical 10 years ago when I left). We ultimately reunited for our youngest whom was displaying much worse special needs than we had originally realized. He's now 18 in college and diagnosed as Aspbergers ( high functioning with strong difficulties in perception and social skills).

The reuniting worked well for many years, surprisingly enough with no outside counseling. But all that changed after a freak accident 5 years ago. In a home improvement store a 10foot steel pipe was launched and struck me in my frontal lobe. This one event destroyed so much of my life.