Hi - not looking for advice, just support

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by Irrational, Aug 4, 2016.

1. Irrational

Irrational Member

Hi

I'm new on here. Feeling low, won't go into detail. I have a set of circumstances which are unusual, I'm a psychiatric nurse, I work with suicidal patients & I've had commendations for saving lives. I know I've made a difference. None of that stops me feeling this way, which is why my name on here is irrational. Most people who know me would say I'm super rational! I think the job makes things worse actually.

Anyway, glad to be a member. I have suicidal thoughts every day, in response to something or in response to nothing. I hope that I can help some of you on here & be helped also. I have no relationships, professional or private, where I can talk about this.

Thanks for reading.

2. Brian777

Brian777 Safety and Support Forum Pro SF Supporter

Hi Irrational, welcome to the forum. I kind of understand your dilemma, I'm an ER nurse(retired) and I know how difficult it is to reach out to those in our own field. I've dealt with depression and anxiety most of my life and kept it hidden at work, probably because I didn't want to deal with the stigma of mental illness which I felt was still prevalent in my area of nursing. Anyway, I'm sure you'll like it here, there are many good and caring people on this site who will support you and also benefit from your knowledge. Take care
    Brian

3. chiaroscura

chiaroscura BestTimePlantTree?100 YearsAgo. NextBestTime?Now. SF Supporter