hiding behind a smile

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by nlm111089, Jul 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nlm111089

nlm111089 New Member

I am hoping that someone here can understand what I am going through. I am 22 years old, I have a job that I love, I have a boyfriend that I love more than anyone in the world, but I can't get these suicidal thoughts out of my head. I have had these thoughts on and off since I was in my early teens. I can't come up with a good reason why.

I work as an emergency medical technician for a local ambulance company. I love my job and I love the people that I work with. Everyone that I know has made comments about how happy I seem and that I never let anything bother me. If only they knew how I felt inside. I am always smiling and talking to people and I have a lot of friends. But I feel that my extreme appearance of happiness is my way of hiding how I really feel from the rest of the world. I have never talked to anyone about how I feel.

I have a boyfriend that I have lived with for almost 4 years and I love him very much. We have a good relationship with only minor problems every once in a while.

My suicidal thoughts have been on overdrive for the past couple of months. Ever since I started an expedited paramedic program. This class is very stressful. But it is something that I have always wanted to do. I don't blame the class for my thoughts but I think the stress has made them worse. Between work and school and trying to keep a clean home I am burnt out.