how can i go on in life and be happy again?

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by skater_gurl, Aug 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. skater_gurl

skater_gurl New Member

i am currently 21 will b 22 soon if i make it but i have been battling suicidal issues since i was 11 years old. i know it sounds young to develop this kind of thought but my life has consisted of being made fun of, death threats, i have been raped twice and nobody has believed me on either occasion. my own family in a way thinks i'm different and that i'm not like the rest of them. i never grew up learning how to be a girl i always was with my dad playing sports. i have gotten help with the suicidal issues by seeing a psychiatrist, therapist, being on medications, being sent to rehab twice, but nothing seems to help me. could somebody just help me and tell me what to do?

2. 1Lefty

1Lefty Well-Known Member

I'm sorry you're hurting. I wish I had a simple answer for you and all of us.

It took a 2nd stay in the psych ward for my psychiatrist to be more active in monitoring my meds, sometimes adjusting dosages, sometimes changing one to go to a different one. That helped.

I'm not on as much here anymore, but I've found more support here than from my family.

At least here I can be accepted, I can speak what I need to without being called "stupid" or being criticized or judged.

And almost everyone here has been, or is now, about where you're at. So we try to look out for each other, and help each other. Sometimes a little support and encouragement from someone who really knows what it's like, is better than hours with a therapist.

3. Sadeyes

Sadeyes Staff Alumni