How do you deal with this?

Discussion in 'Rants, Musings and Ideas' started by Dubstepper, Apr 17, 2012.

1. Dubstepper

Dubstepper Staff Alumni

Ok.. might be a long post.

So, I'm staying with a family, the mom (H) and the dad, (S) are both working now, so the kids (2 and 3. The 6 yearold is here after his grandparents drop him off) are left in my care from 9 til anywhere between 3 and 6. I have had little experience with kids before, so this is mostly new. I've learnt fast tho.. So, quick breakdown in case I mention it later, but they "hired" me to live here, babysit the kids while they work, and I would be provided (obviously) food, room, and they were SUPPOSED to be paying me cash also. I haven't seen any cash, save for the few dollars S gave me the first week I was here. Granted, S did try (i say try cause he gave me the wrong card when I went to the store) to get me some beers a week ago. So, money has been dwelling on my mind a lot.

These kids are not well disciplined. They demand, and throw fits when they don't get what they want, or it's taken away. I know I'm not allowed to spank them, but I do when it's me and the little ones. It's needed, don't judge me on that. But the parents occationally give them spankings and the kids get all tantrum-y about that. It annoys me, because my upbringing was a lot more.. constructed?.. i think i can use that word. But H complains to the air (i don't know if it's directed at me, I frankly don't care, cause that was not why I was "hired") about how stuff isn't clean all the time. I *do* clean, just I don't spend every minute chasing the children and picking up. They are old enough to clean messes.. Hell, the 2 year old DOES IT! The three year old acts like he's not required to do anything. The 6 year old.. ask him to do ANYTHING that isn't fun, and he tries to run off, or throws a fit.
    That's it for this... this is just one thing that's been aggravating me.