How do you do it?

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by itmahanh, Aug 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. itmahanh

itmahanh Senior Member & Antiquities Friend

Just wondering of the members here that suffer from their own demons and or mental health issues, but are able to hold down a job or a career, how do you do it? How or what gets you out of your bed each and every day to head off to work? Maybe what you are able to accomplish each day might be of help to other members? Maybe something they havent tried or been suggested yet. Care to share what gets you up and out each day?
  2. Madam Mim

Madam Mim Well-Known Member

I am a full-time undergraduate student at university and have two part-time jobs (I had three, but got made redundant). The only time I bother to get out of bed is when I need to work or go to uni; it's the days I don't have anything to do that are the worst for me (like today). If I have work, or uni, I'm able to focus solely on that, I just get up and get on with it. If I stop to think, everything goes wrong. To be honest, I am often late for both work and uni due to panic attacks on my way there, but once there I don't have time to think about anything else.

I would be more than happy to give up both work and uni and spend all my time festering away and planning to die (which is pretty much what I spend any spare time doing), but most of my day-to-day life is spent hiding my mental state from my family so this is not an option, but I don't mind as work particularly provides me with a form of escape from my life.