how do you tell your family that you are suicidal?

Discussion in 'Help Me! I Need to Talk to Someone.' started by Pollo, Oct 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pollo

Pollo Well-Known Member

I have been thinking about sharing with my family my suicidal thoughts but I don't want them to panic. They know about my depression and about my therapy and treatment but don't have the slightest idea that I am suicidal since I live in another country. How could I tell them??
  2. Borrowed time*

Borrowed time* Well-Known Member

I would do it face to face and in private. Explain your feelings and that you are getting help.
    Probabaly not very good advice, im not very good at opening up.
    Telling my Mum didnt work for me, i hope your family are more understanding.
    Take care
  3. LillMy8989

LillMy8989 Well-Known Member

I don't even tells if I am feeling very down-there and always tries acting that I have a good blanc eye when they're around me, family means very much, specially my mum has my heart to the root.
    But I am going to do it ( yes, I am ), plans are most important for now and then, both for you and family.
  4. boo

boo Well-Known Member

I would be careful. Not saying you shouldn't do it, but be careful with the words you might speak. Depending on your parent's reaction they might get a court order to get you hospitalized against your will.
  5. may71

may71 Well-Known Member

I think that it may be difficult but important to tell your family. Especially if they are supportive.

I think you could simply call them and tell them "mom, dad, you know that I've been depressed, but it's getting really bad. I'm feeling suicidal and I need help."