How old were you when you first realized....

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by Random, Aug 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Random

Random Well-Known Member

I was just thinking. I just realized that I've been depressed and aimless all of my life.

I first realized something was different about me when I was in 1st grade. I guess I was about 6 or so. The teacher asked us all what we wanted to be when we grew up and it seemed as though everyone but me had an answer.

I didn't want to be anything. I just wanted to be me. None of the responses the other kids had sounded interesting. Not at all. They all sounded dull, tedious and pointless.

I think my sister had decided by the time she was about 13 that she wanted to be a nurse and that's what she did. She's been a nurse for several years. I never did anything. I worked fast food for a few years. I worked as a sucurity guard for a few months. I worked at a textile factory for a couple of months and that's pretty much it. I'm 34 years old and probably haven't worked more than 8 years total in my life.

Anyway. I realized it from the moment I was asked for the first time. I told the teacher I didn't know what I wanted to do and she said that I would have to think of something sooner or later. Right then, I felt the clock start ticking. But it was a hollow ticking because nothing ever came of it.

I hated school. I flunked a lot. I didn't care. Math was a mystery. Reading was OK. Social Studies was kind of OK until it got to the point to where I had to remember tons of names and dates. Then, I just sat around drawing on my notepad until classes were over. I always knew I didn't have a chance.

2. Barbados

Barbados Well-Known Member

I was probably 10 I think when I realised I cant handle life and living the way everyone does

3. Darken

Darken Well-Known Member