how to get prozac

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by kris.., Feb 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kris..

kris.. Well-Known Member

hey, been refused it by two doctors in just two days.

What are good things to say, that will convince him to give it to me? I'm not very good at wording things, and i get nervous at the doctors so i probably didnt explain myself well enough so he doesnt think i need them :S

I wont really be lying anyway, seeing as i desperately need it, or something, asap..

thanks.

almost 6am why have i been up another nightttttttttt :-(

2. Scum

Scum Well-Known Member

Why is it you want Prozac? Have you been able to explain to the doctors why you want it and what the problem is? What are you hoping Prozac will do for you?

3. Lovecraft

Lovecraft Well-Known Member

Prozac only works for people with neurotransmitter abnormalities that cause depression. Even then, you usually need to try other drugs. Some people have bad reactions to Prozac even though others with the same symptoms are great on it. Dealing with the brain is a VERY delicate thing, and so medications that directly affect the brain can be dangerous and differ from person to person. I have depression, but prozac made me have a seizure. You need to convince the doctor you have a legitimate case of depression to get anti-depressants like Prozac or Zoloft. If your depression is situational - your wife left you or something - they will only screw you up in possibly horrible ways.

4. ~Claire

~Claire Well-Known Member

If you get nervous at the docs then maybe you could write down beforehand what you would like to say & then take that in with you.