how to word it.

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by Hache, Oct 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hache

Hache Well-Known Member

After 2 years of depression i've finally decided to see a doctor now that i have the urge to self harm. But i just dont know what to say or how to say it, i'm not very good at talking, especially about myself. Also the mood i am in will play a big part, sometimes i feel i can talk and be open, then the next day i'd rather just curl up in the corner and be alone. If the feeling is the latter come my appointment i think i might end up cancelling like i did once in the past, if i go not really wanting to be open i dont know how i'm going to say anything. It was monday when i rang to book an appointment because i really wanted to go, but they had nothing for that week, had/have to wait 11 days, with the exception of wednsday and friday night i was alright for that week after i'd booked, its like there's only certain times i want the help and its just not there when i need it. Anyway, back to the start i dont know what to say, what to do...

2. mad hatter

mad hatter Active Member

i have the same problem
    when you see your councilor you should tell them of this and then rather than getting you to talk in length about your feelings they can ask you lots of questions to which you can answer as much or as little as you like
    they are there to help you and to accomodate to your feelings

alternatively you could keep a diary and show this to your councilor

dont give up there is help out there!

3. Hache

Hache Well-Known Member

I've heard about writing things down, i think that would work but i'd feel stupid sitting their while they read it

4. mad hatter

mad hatter Active Member

the councilor isnt there to judge you, quite the opposite actually!
    once you've found someone who you trust and you beleve wants to help you things will fall into place