I cut myself last night for the first time

Discussion in 'Self Harm & Substance Abuse' started by bluefish, Mar 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bluefish

bluefish Well-Known Member

A few weeks ago I almost got raped by a coworker, this was about two weeks after my exfiance and I broke up. He found out, and gave me a knife to protect myself.

Last night I took some sleeping pills to sleep (only two!) and I grabbed his knife and dug it into my left arm. Then I did it again. And again. And again.

I have never done this before but it felt good. Now, I am here at work and I really want to go to the bathroom to cut myself some more. How fucking ironic - I'm using the knife he gave me to protect myself. If only he knew.....

How do you guys stop from cutting yourselves? What do you tell yourselves?
  2. dazzle11215

dazzle11215 Staff Alumni

i find it really really hard to stop once i've started... but it no longer feels good when i cut so i had to ask myself why i kept doing. well, actually, it was the psychiatrist who asked me... and i realized that once the endorphins wore off, cutting left me alone with one more reason to hate myself. so i've stopped again.

use all distractions that you would when you feel suicidal... connect with people, like hanging out in chat, calling a friend, or try things that give an intense sensation, like squeezing ice or holding your hand under hot water.

best, for the long term, is self-calming techniques, like deep breathing and such. realize that the intense desire to cut iwll pass... each time you don't give in you will be stronger next time teh urge strikes

3. bluefish

the only thing that has helped me when im feeling suicidal is to come to the chat here - i dont get judged.