I don't get it?

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Lennie, Oct 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lennie

Lennie Well-Known Member

Ok, hi to everyone, I'm quite new to all of this so please show a bit of patience.

Very rarely do I ever want to talk to anyone about how I am feeling, infact I have never told anyone anything, apart from a few snippets that have burst out and I could not control.

I've read a lot of thread's, which I felt I should before posting anything meaningful.

I don't quite understand my situation. Everyone here seems to have alot of reasoning as to why they are suicidal and depressed. I dont believe I do. I haven't had a particularly hard life, infact, I would say all in all its been a good life. Sure I've had the odd bad thing happen to me, but there's no real reason for why I feel depressed and suicidal. I have what I think are the best parents and family in the world, I'm not popular by any means, but I'm certainly not a loner, and I am at a university which I enjoy very much.

So the question is, why do I feel happy when I think about wanting to end my life? Why does it fill me with joy to just want to fall asleep and not wake up again?

I can't answer those questions. I really can't. I dont want to die everyday, I have good and bad day's. What I do know is that I will do it one day, and the thought of death is something that intrigues me. I have no fear of it, and i'm looking forward to embracing it.

There's one reason why I can't do it now, and that is my family. It would hurt them so much. I can't deal with having to place that burden on their shoulders. They don't deserve it. My mum has already lost one child, aswell as trying to take her own life, and I know that it would tip her the edge and she would follow suit. How am I supposed to comprehend something like that? It's a real dilemma. I desperately want to end my life, but I cannot in my current situation.