I don't know what's wrong

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by joichiro, Jul 13, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. joichiro

joichiro New Member

Hello. I think I'm confused.
    I'm here because even though I've been suicidal since a long time ago, I feel everything just running thin lately.
    I'm Chinese (seems like almost everyone else I've been reading is non-asian?) and residing in a terribly stressful country with a super dense population (not China. lol). In typical asian style, depression/psychological problems are not to be talked about, and if you visit a mental hospital/shrink/take pills for it, it's gonna spread to your entire extended family and your parents will 'lose face', so that's not an option.

I don't mean to 'brag' because it's nothing to be proud about, but factually speaking, my life seems good.
    I've been an ace student attending elite schools and scoring better than the average student. No 'family problems'. I'm also very active in school life and have several leadership titles and awards. It wasn't parental stress either, just an over achiever by nature, or simply competitive.

Singapore is strict so I don't do drugs, I'm not interested in alcohol, clubbing, or smoking. I have many friends...
    or maybe 'had' is more accurate.

I first felt suicidal when I was 11 (I'm 22 now) though I can't remember why. People generally consider me outgoing and friendly because I am chatty, but I'm really uncomfortable in social situations and I hate to make new friends. I only do so when it's my responsibility (as a leader etc.), so people including my best friend who has known me for 7 years think I'm kidding when I say I'm awkward to make new friends.