I don't know who to turn to anymore - LGBT story

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Alone4, May 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alone4

Alone4 New Member

Hello, I'd like to start this post off by saying that I realize I'm far from perfect and a large part of this is my fault. Also, people who are uncomfortable/homophobic should not read this post. Also, apologies in advance as this will be sort of long.

I am currently a 20 year old male.

I realized that I was gay when I was a senior in High School, and came out right after I graduated to all of my friends. When I moved to college, I met a guy there. We immediately hit it off, I had never been around someone I was just naturally comfortable with. Someone I could talk to about anything and just be myself around. We began dating about a month later, and just recently broke up after dating for almost 2 years.

The relationship was never perfect, and I guess we're both at fault for this. Problems began about 4 months after we started dating, when I found out he had cheated on me. I was very quick to forgive him and try again, hoping this would be the last of our problems. I was wrong.

After finishing our first year of college, we decided to stay on campus during the summer and move into an apartment together with a friend. I believe this is where the relationship reached the point of no return, but I never realized it.

The summer was the most miserable I've ever had. We fought quite literally almost every day, and a couple of times the fights got out of hand. 3 times during the summer the fights turned from verbal to physical when I was punched in the face, held down and punched, and thrown to the floor, kicked, and spat on. I won't say that this was entirely his fault as I was not an innocent party, I fought back, I yelled.